So you can have one user per person on Apple TV — 2022

If you are used to sharing a computer with more members of your household, it is possible that you use several users so that each one has it personalized to their liking. With an Apple TV this is also possible, although not in all of them or in any version of the system. In this article we will discuss the requirements and how to create new users on an Apple TV.

Necessary requirements

Unfortunately not all Apple TV devices have this capability, it will just have to be the Apple TV HD Y Apple TV 4K. This is because they are the only devices that can have a version that is equal to or later than tvOS 13 , system in which this functionality was added. In any case, we recommend always having the device updated to its latest available version, for which you must go to Settings> System> Software updates and check if there is a more recent version of tvOS.

What is the use of having multiple users on Apple TV?

This option is tremendously useful if there are several people at home, even more so if there are children among them. Having the multi-user option will help everyone to have totally personalized your user as if it were a different Apple TV. Yes indeed, must be signed in with different Apple IDs and Game Center, although this can also be an advantage when accessing content tailored to the person, such as recommendations from Apple Music or Apple TV +. The interface can also be customized in such a way that everyone can have the applications ordered to their liking.



What's new Apple TV

How to set up multiuser

In order to have multiple users on an Apple TV, it is necessary to follow these steps, in addition to meeting the requirements shown in previous sections.

  • Open Settings.
  • Go to Users and accounts.
  • Click on Add new user.
  • Choose whether you want to sign in with the iPhone or manually.
    • If you chose the iPhone option, everything will be more automatic and you will only have to follow the steps indicated on the screen and those indicated by the iPhone itself.
    • With the manual option, you must enter your Apple ID username and password, which, as previously indicated, must be different from that of other users.
  • Tap Sign in.

Switch between tvOS users

Once the user account is created, it will be extremely easy to switch between users. For this you just have to open Control Center , which is accessed by pressing the upper right button on the Siri Remote (the Apple TV remote control). The users will appear at the top of this window, all you have to do is move the cursor over one of them and click on it.

Change user Apple TV

Set up another user for the Home app

This option is available in tvOS 14 and later and it will mainly serve so that users with access to the Casa app can also manage HomeKit accessories from this device. To do this, you may need to send them an invitation from the iPhone app. Yes are not added in the Home app you must follow these steps:

  • Open the Home app on the iPhone.
  • Tap on Home.
  • Tap Invite and enter the user's Apple ID.

Invite Apple TV Home app

If the user is already added to the Home app the same can be invited to Apple TV, by clicking on Show me on Apple TV within the respective iOS application. So that the guest user has access If you didn't already have it, you should do the following:

  • Open the Home app on iPhone.
  • Go to Home Settings.
  • Click on Accept and then click on Accept again and finally on Ok.

How to delete users from tvOS

There is a very old saying that everything that can be created can also be destroyed. It also happens with tvOS users, although perhaps the drama of that phrase is greater than that of doing this action. To proceed with the elimination of a user it will be as simple as following these steps:

  • Open Settings.
  • Now go to Users and accounts.
  • Click on Current User.
  • Select the user you want to remove and tap Remove User from Apple TV.
  • If you also want to revoke access to the Home app, turn off the Show me on Apple TV option.

It should be noted that to perform this action of deleting a user you can do it from any account, regardless of whether it is the one you want to delete.

The images in this article have been obtained from the official Apple website.