Gmail is updated on iOS to prevent our emails from being tracked — 2022

It is a reality that tracking the activity that an email has is relatively easy to do thanks to sending images in the body of the message which are normally downloaded automatically, thoughin Mail you can hide the email address whenever you want. There are many people who are interested in knowing if the mail they have sent has been opened, in order to draw conclusions about whether they have been ignored or not. Now Gmail you are making it much more difficult for this tracking to be done in your iOS app with an update that has seen the light today.

Gmail works to prevent us from being tracked

With the new update of Gmail for iOS we are given the option to choose if we want the images of the emails we receive to be downloaded automatically or not. The most advisable thing is to always have this load deactivated since we will also be blocking emails from being tracked, since small invisible images are normally included in the body of the message whose mission is to warn if we have opened the email.

Logo Gmail



If you have updated the app, you can enable this new feature in Settings > Account > Pictures. In this menu we can choose 'Ask before showing external images'. Once this is done, we will be much more protected from people who want to track the activity we carry out in our inbox.

Subscription services, rather than individual users, are the ones that normally use this tracking system. Habitually they are interested in monitoring at what time we open the subscription emails to keep a much more controlled record of optimal shipping times. By this we mean that if we are always opening the emails that arrive at a specific time in the email manager, it is possible that the service changes the sending time so that they coincide when we are normally in front of our inbox.

We are very pleased that Google and Gmail they are beginning to take our privacy seriously in this regard . We believe that we must fight against services that try to track all our activity, as in this case, even when we open an email. This is not the first move they make, as they also blocked the IP address from being sent to the sender. In this way you will always have aFake IP on your iPhone or iPad.

We hope that in the future all managers will clearly allow this same action to prevent external images from being downloaded without our consent.

Leave us in the comment box what you think of this update.