Disable Find My iPhone: when to do it and with what risks — 2022

In our Apple devices we have a very curious function that can be vital: locating the devices on a map. It goes without saying how useful it is to have this option enabled for cases in which you have lost the device or believe that it may have been stolen. However, we will teach you how to disable Find My iPhone in case, for whatever reason, you want to disable it and you don't know how to do it.

What is and where is this option

Find My iPhone is basically a feature that allows you to locate your iPhone on a map, as long as it is enabled on the device. Then, through another device or the iCloud website, the aforementioned location can be observed, but it is also possible to play a sound on it and even block it in case of loss or theft. Since the arrival of iOS 13, the Find My iPhone function has been integrated with Find Friends into a single app called Find, in which you can see a map showing not only the iPhone, but all Apple devices and friends. with whom you are connected and who have their respective location options activated.

App Find iPhone



Be careful before turning it off

We understand that if you are in this article it is because you want to deactivate this option. Either temporarily or permanently, disabling this functionality could cause even your data is in danger. If you lose your device or it is stolen, the main thing that will worry you is that you have run out of iPhone, a phone that is not exactly cheap. And while your data might be recoverable if you've previously backed it up, someone could still access it if it's not locked down. In fact, you will practically lose all hope of recovering the device itself, since being able to see its location can be vital in many cases. It is true that in cases of theft this becomes more complicated, but if you lost it somewhere and nobody has found it, you could still have time to recover it.

steal iphone

It should be noted that this function could work even with the iPhone turned off. In iOS 13, the possibility that these devices could be located through other Apple devices was also added. And how does this work? Well, in summary, it can be said that the devices, even without a WiFi connection, mobile data, turned off or without a battery, keep enough capacity to emit a signal via bluetooth that is collected by other Apple devices and sent to the Apple servers. the company. This second device that serves as a beacon may or may not be ours and not even the owner will know that it is emitting that signal. In any case, this option must be enabled in the settings.

How to disable only part of Search

All users within the same Apple family can be constantly located through the Find My app available on Apple devices. However, exercising this function is mandatory for family members as it can be easily disabled from the Search app itself. This is a good way to know the location of all your devices while they have an internet connection, something that can be key when it comes to finding a lost device, so before deactivating this function, we encourage you to reflect about whether it's really worth it. However, if you do not want the rest of the family members to know the location of your devices, here are the steps you have to follow to deactivate it.

  1. Open the Search app.
  2. Click the Me tab.
  3. Turn off the Share My Location feature.

Disable family search

With these simple steps you can disable your location so that other members of your Apple family can know it from the Find My app. However, if what you are looking for is the way that your location is not known by any application, in this case what you have to do is deactivate it from the Settings application itself. In the same way that we have warned you of the possible consequences of disabling your location in the Search app, we also have to do it in this case, since many of the applications need the location at certain times for their optimal functioning, our recommendation is that manually disable the location of those apps that you don't really use or don't need to know this information for their performance. However, if what you want is to disable the location of all apps, then we will show you the steps you have to follow.

  1. Open the Settings app.
  2. Click Privacy.
  3. Click on Location.
  4. Turn it off.

Disable location

Disable Find My iPhone from the iPhone itself

If, despite the risks that we have mentioned, you have decided to deactivate the option, you should know that it can be deactivated from the iPhone itself. In fact, sometimes this deactivation is necessary, such as when you leave your iPhone in a technical support to repair. For this reason, we show you how you can do it from the device itself:

turn off find my iphone

  1. Opens Settings on the iPhone.
  2. Click on your name.
  3. Go now to the option Seek.
  4. Click on Search my Iphone.
  5. deactivatethe Find My iPhone feature. Also at this point you can disable the option find offline , which is what allows other devices to serve as a beacon to locate you when you are offline.

Wipe device from iCloud web

Through the iCloud website you can access different settings and files that we have stored on our Apple devices. We also have the possibility of accessing the location of the iPhone, iPad, Mac and Apple Watch that we have with the Search functionality activated. However, it is no longer possible from this website to deactivate said functionality, but devices can be eliminated.

So we give here a alert , since really the method that we show you below not only disables the Find My iPhone function but also completely unlink your iPhone from your Apple ID. Therefore, you should only use this method when you have sold your iPhone or something similar, in those cases in which you will no longer need that device to continue to be associated with your account.

This method can be carried out from any device, although it is preferable to do it from a Mac or Windows computer.

erase iphone icloud

  1. Go from the browser to the iCloud website .
  2. Click on the icon of Seek.
  3. Look on the map and select the iPhone you want to erase.
  4. Click on Erase iPhone.

Once done, all the content and settings of the device will be erased, so we insist on emphasizing again the importance of carrying out this process. In any case, once done, you will no longer be able to locate that iPhone through the app or the iCloud website.