Disable background updates and improve your battery — 2022

If you are a person who wants to extend the autonomy of the iPhone as much as possible, updates in the background are your biggest enemy. In this article we explain what this type of process is and how you can control it.

What are background updates

As its name suggests, background updates allow applications to always be up to date. In this way, when an application is opened it will be completely ready to be used without having to wait. Otherwise, you always have to wait for an application to start and load all the data.

From Apple they clearly explain that the applications that are suspended are not actively in use or open , and they also do not consume system resources such as battery or processing capacity. In the case of having an application with updates in the background, this changes, since if there are updates and new content is constantly searched.



What it means to have background updates active

Following the logic of its definition, having background updates active saves us a few seconds to use an app. But what is really interesting for users is battery consumption. In the case of having problems with the autonomy of the iPhone, it is good to review the applications that have access to updates in the background.

Obviously having a process running constantly in the background is not the best ally for autonomy. So, if you deactivate them, you will gain autonomy in exchange for sacrificing not having access to applications instantly. That second that you lose in what an app loads can be sacrificed, since it is hardly invaluable. It is also important to make it clear that once the updates are deactivated in the second, the notifications will continue to arrive from the main applications. For example, you will never stop receiving notifications of new WhatsApp or Telegram messages. This is why it is advisable to disable them to save battery, if necessary, since not much is lost. But if you are comfortable with this feature, the iPhone comes with this option enabled by default.

Disable background updates on an iPhone

Apple gives many options to customize background updates. They can be restricted to all applications so that none have access to updates in the background or do it in a more selective way. In order to carry out this customization process, simply go to Settings > General > Background refresh.

In the header of this section you will find a section that says 'Update in the background'. If you click there, you can choose between three different options:

    Do not:disable background updates for all apps in general. Wi-Fi:Background updates will only be used when connected to a Wi-Fi network. Wi-Fi and mobile data:in this case, background updates will always be active at all times regardless of the internet connection you have.

disable background updates

If you go back and scroll down a bit, you'll find a list of all the apps you have installed on your iPhone or iPad. You can uncheck those apps that you don't want to be updating in the background because you don't use them regularly or they aren't vital to you. In this way it is not so radical to remove all the apps that are using this function. Obviously, the more apps you have checked, the higher the battery and mobile data consumption will be.

In short, if you want to preserve your device's battery, this is a very interesting option that will hardly have an impact on your day-to-day life. If, on the other hand, you want to enjoy all the functions that your iPhone brings without worrying about the battery, simply activate them and you will have a much more fluid and fast experience.